June    2023

Breaking News

15 disqualified MLAs join BJP in Karnataka

Thursday,14 November 2019 09:52 AM IST

Bengaluru: Fifteen out of the 17 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs joined the BJP in the presence of chief minister BS Yediyurappa in a new development in Karnataka politics ahead of the upcoming bypolls in the state. Back in June-July, the rebel MLAs rebelled against the functioning of the government of Congress-JD(S) led by former chief minister Kumaraswamy claiming that they had lost confidence in the government. The Karnataka chaos that lasted for more than a month ended after the Kumaraswamy government failed to prove the majority on the house floor, and BJP formed a new government under BS Yediyurappa's leadership. On Wednesday, the Supreme Court upheld Karnataka Governor KR Ramesh Kumar's decision to disqualify rebel MLAs but allowed them to contest by-polls and elections in 2023.

The opinions expressed here do not reflect those of Media Eye. Legal action under the IT Act will be taken against those making derogatory and obscene statements.....


Comments (0)

Using 0 of 100000 Possible Characters

FFC stands for ?